Bye little garden

I am leaving soon for a holiday with my family in France. I don’t know if I will manage to steal some time for this blog. Some flowers I have been eagerly awaiting will show up in my absence. It doesn’t really matter – my husband can enjoy them and take some pictures. Living things have to go their path and follow their own rhythm. I am grateful for what my first gardening spring and summer brought me.

Auntie Shelagh’s miniature-rose-turned-big had so many flowers it couldn’t stand their weight. It was a bit as if the flowers’ stems had stayed adapted to a miniature plant, while the leaves and the flowers had gone wild. My Dad managed to keep them upright for a while using some complicated wire and stake composition. The colours were just beautiful.

DSCN7634

Little dianthus doing well. Why aren’t they more fashionable ? They are so pretty. Too easy for the advanced gardener ?

DSCN7635

One of the delphiniums. Not what I expected, but white, which is good, and as glorious as a victory against snails and slugs !

DSCN7637

I have lots and lots of Anémones de Caen, and I am just in awe of the blue ones.

DSCN7639

The first blue cornflowers. They are the sign and the heart of summer (waves of poppies and cornflowers in the fields of beautiful old France).

DSCN7641

It turns out Sainsbury’s yellow lilies were truly yellow (phew ! At least my son wasn’t betrayed this time, unlike then). And magnificent as well !

DSCN7706

DSCN7720

The Clifford’s Stingray hosta is now showing off – not only are the flowers impressive, they also seem to attract bees quite a lot !

DSCN7734

The fifty pence climbing rose bought in Poundland in the end had to be declared dead (mentioned here), but the hypericum purchased in the same shop at the same price has done quite well. The jewel-like flowers are small and I have no idea if this hypericum is going to be an upright bush or a groundcover kind of thing. Qui vivra verra. But is this Poundland plant going to live ?

DSCN7738

Finally, my first cosmos flowers ! Simple flowers close to my heart.

DSCN7735

DSCN7737

And, last but not least, proof that this garden deserves to be loved. Here is the Spirit of the place (talked about him here), under the ceanothus. He lives there, usually hidden under the dense groundcover provided by the Anémones de Caen. French, essentially ! 😉

DSCN7625

DSCN7623

See you !

xxx

One thought on “Bye little garden

  1. Comment fais-tu pour avoir un jardin si magnifique? Beaucoup d’amour sans doute !

    Les Anglais qui vivent en Charente et avec lesquels ma mère est devenue amie ont des jardins magnifiques. Ils ont un art particulier pour les aménager. Je trouve qu’on s’y sent bien, immédiatement, et pas comme dans les jardins des français. Ils sont à la fois plus libres et plus élégants.

    Bonnes vacances en France !

    Like

Leave a Reply

