Random pictures, one feeling.

Only-in-England (not really, but still. On the way to Harbledown).

Photo 14-09-2017 16 01 51

Clematis vitalba, Old Man’s Beard, Traveller’s Joy, Herbe aux gueux, Viorne des pauvres.

Photo 14-09-2017 16 04 42

My little garden at a transitional stage. Though it doesn’t show yet, a lot of work has been done since coming back from Paris. The shed should have crumbled long ago, but Father-in-law’s magic has kept it standing. Pity the roof isn’t strong enough to support the wisteria anymore.

The copper beech in the hedge has escaped at the top and will be sawed. I love copper beeches so much one features as a main character in a novel I am writing. Their newly opened leaves are out of this world, in texture and colour. A Spring photo to prove it :

2017-05-07 14.41.26

Acer palmatum Katura, Autumn’s seat at the moment.

Photo 21-09-2017 11 01 38

The tree will be repotted in a month or so.

Photo 21-09-2017 10 59 17

P.S. : I have been hacking at pruning the previously barrel-shaped boxwood, aiming for a niwaki. It probably is wrong, as it is situated in the hedge, not to mention that it will take years to reach an acceptable form, if ever. However, during the four hours spent doing that, I had the close company of Little Red (the robin) and Mister Black (or one of his sons), the former catching spiders and worms while the latter was feasting on the many snails falling from the branches. I know robins are bold, but this one just amazes me ! Unfortunately, I did not have my camera with me. If I feel brave enough, I’ll post about this quest for a niwaki shape. Please, Father Christmas, bring me a beautiful Japanese secator ?

 

4 thoughts on “Demain l’automne

  1. Thanks for that post, great photos and a new word for me – niwaki, and, as I enjoy words, I’m always so pleased to find a new one, particularly when it’s to do with gardening. I especially like the photo of the border with the copper beech leading to your shed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mossfighter for your kind comment ! I learned the word niwaki not long ago too, watching some expert who was keen to stress that cloud-pruning and Japanese niwaki are not (always) the same. My garden doesn’t look like much at the moment, as there are a lot of new very small plants meant to replace those which died during our absence, but the copper beech is always a beauty. Do you grow trees ?

      Like

Leave a comment