… end of May.

And so the season is getting on. (I must work on my titles. The only other one which I had in mind was : “More random stuff from my garden”).

Daffs, hyacinths, tulips are long gone, even the iris have passed away.The little Lewisia seems at the end of its flowering time, and so do the ranunculus.

DSCN0169

My only paeony flower has shed its petals.

I – Surprise, suprise…

Talking of which, I wish to make a complaint about Marks and Spencer’s bulbs and tubers. I bought something which the packaging presented as Paeony Sarah Bernhardt, this well-known pink blousy beauty :

Paeonia_lactiflora_'Sarah_Bernhardt

(photo Mike Bowler)

And this is what I got :

DSCN0165

So… I am happy to have a flower at all, but wouldn’t it be wonderful if it actually was what I was planning for ? Disgusted of Tunbridge Wells ! I supposed this is what you get for buying flowers in a highstreet shop instead of a nursery or a garden centre. This reminds me of last year’s yellow lupins from Sainsbury’s which were white and of Oriental Poppy Victoria Louise (same supermarket) which is this (sorry, this is the best picture I have, but you can still see the flower) :

DSCN9581

instead of this :

Poppy 'Princess Victoria Louise'

But I will stiff-upper-lipped get over it.

II – Some alliums

I do already have a few miniature roses, but the stars at the moment are the alliums. I LOVE alliums. Inspired by Monty Don’s garden, I bought a few Purple Sensation last autumn and their colour is really sensational (you may say I am easily pleased).

DSCN9555  DSCN9565

Unfortunately, I don’t even have a bud to show for my Alliums Schubertii which seem to have disappeared in the slug’s digestive system (I am not sure about the culprit though, I thought the scent of alliums would deter slugs).

Whilst the Stars of Persia are just opening at the moment, the Nectaroscordium Siculum have been open for a week or so.

DSCN9572  DSCN0167

I wasn’t so sure about them when they first started coming out of their protective layer (they look like somebody on a bad hair day) , but I am now really impressed with them, especially as they seem to make bumblebees absolutely crazy (for some reason, it’s the red-tailed bumblebees which are all over them), so much so that the area where they are planted is filled with a tiny firework-like sound.

DSCN9574

The flowers’ delicate and complex colours become more pronounced as time passes.

Other alliums : I had no idea when I bought the chives last year that this humble plant would produce the best flower display in the garden!

DSCN0171

III – Broken spikes

The Delphiniums are about to flower soon. And here I must confess a very heterodox experiment : while I was pruning the forsythia which was in great need of it, I broke my only white delphinium flower spike (the reason why there is only one spike is, I believe, a disease. The plant produced variegated sickly crumpled leaves which, according to my father-in-law, might be caused by a virus) (and this is where you are really grateful to have read this parenthèse). Instead of losing my temper, I got some sellotape, a bamboo cane, and there we go.

DSCN9559  DSCN9560

I bet it will work. The upper part of the flower spike, more that 24 hours later, seems still alive. Otherwise, the blue delphinium with five flower spikes had better make up for it.

And this is the badly half-pruned forsythia :

DSCN9562

This foxglove is also broken (and I am to blame again. I was trying to weed behind it, wasn’t I). But it can get comfort from the presence of a lovely ladybird.

DSCN9568

To follow on the part I of this super-organised post, this foxglove was bought in a garden centre. It said “Pink” on the label. I think if you really concentrate hard and close you eyes, you may see it that way. I don’t like throwing away plants, but what to do with wishy washy colours ?

IV – Alpines

– Leucanthemum African Eyes, just starting :

DSCN9569

– Dianthus Starburst, fidèle à son poste :

DSCN0168

– Cobweb houseleek (love them love them)

DSCN0170

– Sedum pulchellum Seastar preparing flowers :

DSCN9582

– Edelweiss… Yes, Edelweiss. Nostalgie, quand tu nous tiens…

DSCN9577

V – That’s enough really.

Next post about hostas, I think. The bareroot plants received from Parker’s seem to grow happily, but not worth a photo yet, even by my low photographic standards.

And this is bye bye for now. I leave you with this humble pulsatilla vulgaris flower (my first !).
DSCN9580

Leave a Reply

